Nominees Announced for the 2014 Okanagan Arts Awards

On , In News
KADAC Logo 2004okartawards


Arts Council of the Central Okanagan
Press Release:  Nominees Announced for the 2015 Okanagan Arts Awards

The Arts Council of the Central Okanagan is pleased to announce the finalists for the 8th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards. Local artists, art supporters and organizations will be recognized for their commitments and excellence in the arts.

The Okanagan Arts Awards honours artists from various disciplines though 14 different categories: Visual Arts, Theatre, Dance, Music, Literary, Design, Media Arts, Graphic Arts, Culinary, Supporter of the Arts, Arts Educator, Arts Organization and Youth and Lifetime Achievement. The nominees represent a wide range of talents from communities throughout the Okanagan/Thompson Valley.

And the nominees are:

Central Okanagan Foundation Arts Association Award
Alternator Centre for Contemporary Art
Enderby Artists Initiative
Okanagan Archive Trust Society. Brian Wilson

Arts Educator
Alexandra Babbel (Kelowna)
Delphine Derickson  (Westbank)
Nancy Holmes (Kelowna)
Randy Leslie (Kelowna)

Nick Growing (Kelowna)
Michael Lyon (Kelowna)

Get Bent School of Belly Dance and Performing Arts (Penticton)
Jordan McAlpine (Kelowna)
Shani Wendell (Lake Country)

Avante Kiosks (Okanagan Falls)
Kaitlan Murphy (Revelstoke)

Graphic Arts
David MacCoubrey (Penticton)
Kyle Poirier (Kelowna)
Mishell Raedeke (Kelowna)

Literary Arts
Patricia Ainslie (West Kelowna)
Jennifer Schell (Kelowna)
Dona Sturmanis (Kelowna)

Media Arts
Chris Stenberg (Penticton)
K.A.S.P. Entertainment (Penticton)

Dennis Colpits (Kelowna)
Ben Klick (West Kelowna)
Ernst Schneider (Penticton)

Supporter of the Arts
Lynda Norman (Kelowna)
Tatianna O’Donnell (Enderby)
Shelly Vida (Kelowna)

Asparagus Community Theatre (Armstrong)
David Kopp (Kelowna)
Many Hats Theatre Co. (Penticton)

Visual Arts
Glen Clarke (Penticton)
Jolene Mackie (Kelowna)
Chris Malmkvist (Lake Country)

Kelsie Balehowsky (Kelowna)
Nikolas Filipiric (Penticton)
Cynthia Leigh-Ann (Kelowna)

The Awards Ceremony will take place Saturday, March 28th at the Rotary Arts Centre in Kelowna, with an opening reception at 6:00 P.M. and the award presentations and Concert starting at 7:00 P.M.  The Concert offers a rich variety of performances, and is followed by an after party in the same location. Winners will be presented with a hand carved sculpture commissioned by Kamloops artist, Dennis Cound.

Tickets for the 2015 Okanagan Arts Awards are $40 and available online through or at the Rotary Centre’s box office at 421 Cawston Avenue. Phone: 250-717-5304. Please see more information below:


Inquiries, contact Elke Lange at 250-861-4123 or

Sharon McCoubrey at 250-766-4406 or [email protected]