Announcing the Nominees of the 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards

On , In News, Okanagan Arts Awards UPDATES


Nominee Badge_WebThe Arts Council of the Central Okanagan is pleased to announce the nominees for the 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards.

The Okanagan Arts Awards were created by ARTSCO in 2007 to celebrate artistic and creative excellence and achievement of artists, in all disciplines. By publicly acknowledging the work of individuals and organizations, the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan places excellence in artistic practice, front and centre as an integral part of our vibrant community.

“The nominations were phenomenal this year”, say Katie Brennan, Executive Director of the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan. “We went from 41 nominations in the Central Okanagan last year to 113!”

Only 3 nominees in each category will be going through as finalists to the Okanagan Arts Awards Gala Evening, held Saturday, May 28th, 2016 at the Habitat in downtown Kelowna.

Finalists will be announced sometime next week.

And the nominees are….


Constance Bachman Laurie Koss Heather Lynne Parlane
Kelsie Balehowsky Suzanne Le Stage Sarah Parsons
Rose Braun Wanda Lock Bramble Lee Pryde
Jody Bruce Linda Lovisa Shayla Ritchie
Connor Charlesworth Jolene Mackie Grant Robinson
Danielle Englesby Moyna Macdonnell Laura Widmer
Jane Everett Don Makela Bobby Vandenhoorn
Erica Hawkes Brandy Masch Connie Vetter-Johnson
Natasha Harvey Aaron Metz Meghan Wise
Asher J Klassen Carrie Mitchell Nicole Young Kyle Zsomber


Kinshira Performance Troupe Loretta Lachner
Lucy Hazelwood (LU KI DANCE PRODUCTIONS) Janessa McGrath Samantha Sambrielaz


Stephen Buck Andrew Judah Darren Williams
Kelly Derrickson Adam Meachem Wild Son
Alexandra Babbel, Opera Kelowna Hilary Ross (Syren and the Waves)


Ronald Derrickson Cherie Hanson
Lesley Anne Evans Ashley Little Michael V. Smith


Cori Derickson Robert Mason-Brown – Fred Skeleton Theatre Company
Kinshira Preformance Troupe Shangning Zhu
David Kopp – Kelowna Comedy Randall J. Robinson


Benjamin Musgrave Todd Ramsay Nick Schafer – Fresh Finish Media


Cortnee Chulo Bri Stein
Art Felt Collaborative


Kelsie Balehowsky Asher J Klassen Janessa McGrath Connie Vetter-Johnson
Connor Charlesworth Jolene Mackie Benjamin Musgrave Nicole Young
Danielle Englesby Tascheleia Marangoni Hilary Ross (Syren and the Waves) Shangning Zhu


Opera Kelowna Bramble Lee Pryde Darren Williams
Cool Arts Hilary Ross (Syren and the Waves) Kyle Zsombor
Shimshon Obadia Connie Vetter-Johnson


Opera Kelowna Jazz Jam Lake Country Art Gallery
Cool Arts Kelowna Arts Council Okanagan Symphony Orchestra
Federation of Canadian Artists – Central Okanagan Chapter Sncəwips Heritage Museum Summer Arts Scene for Youth (SASFY) Suk’ʷtəmsqilxʷ West Kelowna Arts Council


Brazen Edwards – Ellis Art Studio  Jenn Kyllo – Pinot & Picasso Bramble Lee Pryde – Wolf & Sadie
Cedar Creek Estate Winery Linda Lovisa – New Moon Art Gallery Bri Stein – Bri Stein Artistry
Carrie Mayhew – Ginger Creative


Float Space The Heritage – Retirement Living
Investors Group Raymond James Ltd Rileys Pub